Injection de CO2

Dans la méthode au CO2, les abeilles et les varroas sont rendus inconscients par exposition au dioxyde de carbone. L'échantillon d'abeilles anesthésiées est ensuite agité doucement dans l'EasyCheck, faisant tomber les varroas à travers les trous du panier. Une étude menée en Europe indique des résultats similaires en termes de précision à ceux obtenus par un lavage à l'alcool.*

*Efficiency of Varroa monitoring methods, the benefits of standardized monitoring devices.

Ludovic de Feraudy, Dr. Ulrike Marsky & Ph.D Jiri Danihlik. - Apimondia 2019 proceeding. 

Comment effectuer un suivi au CO2 ?

Matériel requis (non inclus) : injecteur de CO2 avec une cartouche de CO2

Étape 1

Prélevez un échantillon de 300 abeilles (200 abeilles si la colonie est faible) à l’aide du panier blanc, de préférence sur un cadre de couvain operculé (Ne pas prélever la reine). Remettez le panier à l'envers dans le bol transparent et appuyez dessus afin de le bloquer.

Sample of bees in the Varroa Easy Check
CO2 injection in the Varroa Easy Check

Étape 2

Mettez le couvercle jaune par dessus. Laissez une petite ouverture afin d’y injecter le CO2 à travers les trous du panier blanc pendant 5 à 6 secondes, jusqu'à ce que les abeilles cessent de voler. Ne pas injecter directement vers les abeilles. Ensuite, vissez rapidement le couvercle. Laissez le Varroa EasyCheck reposer pendant environ 10 secondes, jusqu'à ce que les abeilles soient anesthésiées.

Étape 3

Retournez le Varroa EasyCheck et secouez doucement l'échantillon pendant 15 secondes, en veillant à ne pas blesser les abeilles. Les varroas vont se détacher des abeilles et tomber à travers les trous du panier.

Varroa Easy Check shaking
Varroa infestation

Étape 4

Ouvrez le couvercle jaune et comptez les varroas à l'intérieur. Selon votre échantillon (200 ou 300 abeilles : les marques sont indiquées à l'intérieur du panier) divisez le nombre de varroas comptés par 2 ou 3 pour obtenir votre taux d'infestation en %. Pour interpréter les résultats, consultez notre guide Varroa  et/ou vos seuils d'infestation régionaux.

Étape 5

Remettez les abeilles dans la ruche où elles se réveilleront. Eliminez les varroas, car la plupart seront encore en vie.

Beekeeper putting the bees in the hive

CO2 injection

In the CO2 method, bees and mites are rendered unconscious by exposure to carbon dioxide gas. The sample of anesthetized bees is then gently shaken in the EasyCheck, causing the mites to fall from the bees and pass through the white basket’s holes. Research conducted in Europe indicates results that are similar in accuracy to those obtained by an alcohol wash.*

*Efficiency of Varroa monitoring methods, the benefits of standardized monitoring devices.

Ludovic de Feraudy, Dr. Ulrike Marsky & Ph.D Jiri Danihlik. - Apimondia 2019 proceeding. 

How to perform a CO2 injection for mite monitoring?

Required material (not included): CO2 injector/dispenser (to purchase separately) with a CO2 cartridge.

Step 1

Collect a sample of 200 or 300 bees with the white basket, preferably from a frame of capped brood (make sure the queen is not in the sample). The marks for 200 and 300 bees are indicated inside the basket. Put the basket back UPSIDE-DOWN into the transparent bowl and push it until it's correctly seated inside the bowl (it should stay in place if you turn it over).

Sample of bees in the Varroa Easy Check
CO2 injection in the Varroa Easy Check

Step 2

Place the yellow lid on the top. Create a small opening between the yellow lid and the transparent container and inject the CO2 through the holes of the white basket for 5 to 6 seconds, until the bees stop flying. Do not inject directly toward the bees. Then, quickly screw the lid. Let the Varroa EasyCheck sit for about 10 seconds, until the bees are anesthetized.

Step 3

Turn the Varroa EasyCheck upside-down and gently shake the sample for 15 seconds, so you do not hurt the bees. Varroa mites will be dislodged from bees and fall through the holes of the basket.

Varroa Easy Check shaking
Varroa infestation

Step 4

Open the yellow lid and count the mites inside. Calculate infestation rate per 100 bees, as for alcohol wash. Depending on if you took 200 or 300 bees divide the number of counted mites by 2 or 3 to get your infestation rate (%). To interpret the results, please consult our Varroa Guide and/or your local thresholds.

Step 5

Put the bees back in the hive where they will recover. Dispose of the fallen varroa mites, as most will still be alive.

Beekeeper putting the bees in the hive